Holding Eric part 27 Wow have we got news


Holding Eric part 27.

Hello everyone Thanks for everything, This has been a very busy week as Holding Eric has gone to Paramount Production after so long time wanting this story I gave in’ we will be working reviewing together over the next few months with the technical services as well. Don’t worry we will finish off with Part 30. So again I thank all of you for the following making Holding Eric worth the time to read to so many response’s on the internet. Will.

Starting out the story on August 21st Wednesday mid-morning

Crushing the can checking around for the trash, Bert pointed to a bag near the door with uncrushed cans inside, with a cringed look over at the bag getting up placing it inside, looking down the hallway  before sitting back down waiting.

Bert finally was able to get a few words in after hearing about Lawyers and everything about Eric “Penny’ Eric’s fine and looks fine he’s has been thru a lot I understand”

“Great he’s something all right how he’s managed to get as far as he has without getting pick up already by somebody before this I don’t know’ he’s so young” Bert cutting her off “Penny’ Penny I’m just outside Houston a few hours away’ I could drive him down as soon as my boys get out from school”

“Right what was I thinking’ My husband was looking for him in St. Louis and just drove back to Kentucky they’ve been at the Horse show there”

“No that’s quite alright I understand about horse shows been to a few myself”

“No it’s no problem I can bring him’ really it’s no problem” looking to a pad on the table pulling it over

“That’s great I’ll call my husband and let him know’ you’ll be bring him here”

“Right now I believe Eric needs to get some rest and cleaned up, we should be starting out around five’ o’ wait the boys have practice so it won’t be till seven before we could leave, tell you what if its ok I could drive him down in the morning would that be better? Or you could come here before night fall?”

“Yes perhaps he should get some rest’ you sure he’s no problem staying the night?”

“Sleeping in some woods the past few days he a little ragged, I’d feel better knowing he was rested”

“Thank You Bert’ you’re a life saver”

“Well take my number and give me a call in the morning or later if you like”

“Let me get a pen’ seems there’s never one around when you need one’ my boys are always taking them for one thing or another’ ok found one” opening a few cabinet draws before finding one returning to his seat. Exchanging Numbers.

Eric waited looking out at the horse’s in the field again, Bert smiling over seeing he was enjoying himself. Penny went on giving him Jacob’s number also just in case Eric wanted to talk to him, Bert hurrying trying to get her off the phone “Ok will see you then” Holding the phone outward for Eric to hang it up relaxing looking at the paper, Eric sat down looking over at it while brushing the crumbs in a pile, Bert clean off the table placing the coffee pot back on the counter “Boy she talks a lot’ hope you know what you’re in for kid” smiling over waving for him to follow, “Eric you’ll really need to wash up and get into some clean clothes”

“Clean clothes? Wash up?” checking his pants over frowning at the wheat and mud

“Yes that’s what I said Shower and clean clothes” nodding yes waving his fingers to follow walking into a bedroom, Eric looking around among the Baseball posters and bedspread everything baseball, Eric started for the bed just as he was going to sit down on the bed “Don’t sit on Casey’s bed I’ll never hear the end of it” Bert open the closet door waving his hand towards shirts hanging “Any color you like Blue or Green?” turning back looking down at Eric dumbfounded with his shoulders rising upward.

“It doesn’t matter Blue’s good” Gratefully looking them over, Bert lifted a short sleeve handing it to Eric, turning to the dresser opening draws pulling clothes out setting them on top, stopping looking back Eric just watching dangling the shirt hanger on his finger, with a snap outward opening pants checking to see if they were big enough draping them over his waving arm, getting the rest. “Ok this should do you’ shower that includes Hair and place yours in the hamper not on the floor”

Bert walked out of the room heading back towards the kitchen, Eric stood in the hallway watching him at the counter, with a quick look at the screen door then into the bathroom, overly clean room with small green rug on the floor and towels placed neatly on the rack, placing everything on the toilet seat checking out the Mirror “Right dirty I am”  tossing his hair back frowning, pulling down a wash cloth and towel from the shelf setting them on the sink reaching over checking the shower before bending down turning it on, watching the water while getting undressed, stopping just before getting in looking back at the door hearing the screen door closing, slowly opening the door peaking around outward first at the kitchen turning back at the screen door seeing Bert sitting on the steps with the dogs running up to him.

Penny wasted no time calling Jacob waiting with it going to voice mail, frustrated hanging up calling David, He pickup on the third ring “Hi Penny” Penny with a slight smile relived asking “Jacob around his phone went to voice mail?” eye’s wide looking outside the window “Hold on” David sitting at the table handed the phone over to Jacob “Your Wife” going back to his breakfast.

“Hi honey phone charging”

“That’s fine you will get another phone when you back’ and I’ve got some news for you”

Jake wanting to talk excided waiting on the phone watching him, David pointed down to Jakes plate, Jake frown slowly taking a bite. “Jake wants to talk to you when were done so is it Good or bad?”

“Good news he’s here in Texas!”

“At the house now?” suppressed looking over at David

“No a Mr. Gallagher said he found him, told Eric called here”

“So where is he?”

“Just outskirt of Houston so When you headed home’ today? He’ll be here looking for you!”

Dropping his fork looking over to Jake “Ok’ will be heading home then!” moving his plate aside

Jake stopped eating looking up “No you said we could stay till Sunday Dad!” tossing his fork on the plate

“Jake we have to go home”

Pouting turning lowering his head, David reach over bringing closer to him looking at Jacob.

“No’ dad were supposed to stay you said we could” looking away saggy his shoulders

After shaking his head watching Jake with his Grandpa “We still have the rental till Monday”

“Monday Jacob’ No you need to come home he expecting to see you”

“Honey we just can’t drop everything and head home”

“Jacob you started this with Eric’ he’ll be here tomorrow!”

“I understand that’ I could drive the rental home but … could Jake stay here with Dad?”

Jake quickly turn looking over with David waiting to see what she said

“Jacob your too soft’ how many times Jake gets his way’ that boy’ Let me speak to him” looking around the kitchen at dirty dishes holding the phone smiling at photos on the refrigerator of the kids playing.

“Jake your mom?” Jacob holding the phone to Jake pressing his lips together staring at his plate not wanting to take it looking away, David with one finger getting his attention pointed to the phone, Jake frowned reaching over taking it with his upset voice “Hi Mom why can’t dad just come home I want to stay with Grandpa It’s the big show and I’ll be fine and Grandpa can watch me” broken voice frowning waiting.

“Jake if you want to stay and come home with your grandpa its ok’ I miss you”

“Mom it’s the real big show event please can’t I stay? Give me gimmy kiss’ Love you Please”

“I said yes Jake’ behave and mind your grandpa ok dear?”

“Thanks Mom I’ll stay out of trouble’ I’ll be good” handing the phone back to Jacob smiling with his tong hanging outward nodding “Grandpa I can stay’ we won’t miss the show” picking up his fork cutting his sausage link smiling.

“He’s better’ so you told the girls about you know who’s coming?”

“Yes there taking it well and how’s Jake taking the news?”

“I … Sort of told him in a roundabout way” looking over at Jake trying to hear what she was saying now

“Who’s coming Dad?” Jake asking looking back and forth at the two of them “Who coming Grandpa?”

“I’ll tell you after quite’ finish eating” David said getting his attention back.

“Hello Jacob you still there?”

Holding the phone hesitating “I’m here”

“Really’ what’s going on Jacob that you’re not telling me something besides the show?”

“Well Yes’ one of the workers here from the office’ Dora her name and she’s bringing her two children by in the morning so Jake can have someone more his age, she’s really good with Jake.

“Dora’ she called me telling she was helping Jake”

“Well we all went for dinner last night I told you didn’t I?”

“Jacob you did and did you hire her?”

“Sort of’ she’s moving to Houston she can help selling some of the horses”

“You told me’ look have a good time just becareful, as soon as you get here we got a few papers to fill out that need to be brought in and filed in courthouse”

“I understand honey’ he’s been thru a lot for his age ‘just thing if it was Jake”

Jake looked over only hearing his name “Me I didn’t do it dad”

“Drink your juice Jake” David said hurrying Jacob up as the waitress took the empties refilling there cups.

“I be home soon I’ve got to go don’t worry’ I’ll call when I’m ready to leave”

“Ok’ give my gimmy kisses to Jake and thank David for me”

“Me too love you” Hanging up handing the phone over reaching for his coffee.

Bert turned seeing Eric at the door holding his shoes “Set them here in the sun and get yourself a soda”

Eric without hesitation retrieved a soda, returning sitting on the porch next to him watching the dogs playing. Bert smiled over “You look a lot cleaner’ feel better?” checking his messy hair over

“I needed a good shower, his clothes fit, and your Casey around my age?”

“Casey’s almost twelve mostly outgrown his clothes already”

“He won’t mind me wearing his stuff?”

“No’ he won’t mind”

“So you ran away? And heading to the Mazzionie’s?”

“Trying anyways”

“So think you’ll like it? Penny seems pleasant even if she talks a lot” Smiling over watching Eric wiggling his toes in the sun light, Eric smiled back taking a swig setting it down on the water ring, looking around the yard rising up a little spotting more horse’s.

“The dogs don’t bother the horses?”

“No they get along good together, let me ask you something Eric why did you leave?” Eric frozen glancing over “Its ok she told me some of it’ didn’t sound like a fun place to be anyway right”

“It was the pits’ and juvenile was there next order of placing me, so I ran away’ besides I’ve managed before” taking a deep breath laying down on his back checking the porch boards, pulling himself up by his fingers gripping the edge sitting back up.

“Well you’ve been thru a lot the past few weeks” reassuring him watching him tensely gripping into the wood edge turning his fingers white, his dazed eyes closed “Eric it ok son you’re going to be living with them, Penny already said you were so you can relax a little”

Eric looked up shocked “She did and Jacob?” relived relaxing his fingers reaching for the wet soda can.

“I’ll be taking you’ how’s that sound?” waiting watching him finishing off the can without crushing it this time setting it down nodding yes, wiping the drippings on the pant leg.

“That be great we leaving now?”

“No in the morning’ you’ll stay here the night and get some needed rest”

“Is it far from here?”

“No about three hours’ drive’ the boys have no school till Monday, sure they’d like to meet you also”

“No school?”

“Teacher’s planning days so they have a long weekend”

“You like cookouts?”

“I’ve been to a few not many”

“Will have one tonight

“Tonight’ you mean you can have one here whenever you like?”

“Of Course we can anytime”

“Up north we can’t city zoning something that’s what I was told anyway”

“Hamburgers maybe hotdogs or whatever you like how’s that sound?”

“Cheeseburger’s ok?”

“Sure I’ll take you to town we can stop and get a few things for tonight and pick up the boys from practice, then will start the cook out will even have ice cream”

“Great’ Ice cream too” smiling checking his shoes “it’s not been that easy getting here’ last night was so scary this space monster came out at me with its glowing eyes and a leather coat, it was so long and moving its legs right at me” holding his arms and hands outward showing how big it was, Bert smiled moving his head back and forth trying not to laugh at him.

“It almost got you did it” cheeks getting red from grinning smiling over

“It did’ it was after me, so I ran as fast as I could getting away from it”

“Did it follow you?” spilling some of his coffee on the step

“No I found a place near the creek and stayed the whole night waiting for it to show up”

“Eric that was an armadillo not a space monster” smiling not able to drink his coffee setting it back down, reaching over rubbing Eric messy wet hair.

“I washed it and had to do it again so much dirt just spinning around the drain”

“You needed a showed”

“I put the clothes in that box thing and folded the towel setting it on top that ok?”

“Fine’ anything in the pockets that you’ve forgotten?”

Eric’s eye open getting right up rushing inside, returning holding his bill’s and Two Cards

“You have two cards?”

“One from another trucker who gave it to me for Jacob” holding the card so he could see it

“Did the driver say why he gave you the card?”

“Just so he could call him I guess”

“Did you do something that made him give you the card?”

“No he just gave it to me he was friendly making sure I was ok before he left”

“So you just got rides all the way here”

“Pretty much … some walking, and sleep in alleys other than the trees”

Penny sat down with papers in front of her holding the phone as it rang

“Santino Law Firm how may I direct your call?”

“Mr. Santino”

“I’m sorry he’s out of the office right now would you like to speak top someone else?”

“Maybe do you know who’s handling the Leiski or Mazzionie case?”

“Sure hold on” placing her on hold “That would be Sean Bradley he’s here would you like me to transfer you?”

“Yes please I’m calling from Texas”

“Yes hold on”

Holding hearing music waiting checking what papers she had, while Bradley pulled the file sitting down pushing the phone button “Hello Mrs. Mazzionie I may I help you”

“Are you working on The Leiski case?”

“Yes I’ve worked with Mr. Santino on the Family court case”

“Fine Mr. Santino said we needed to get the paper work started before he got here’ well he’s here”

“What Eric’ there now with you?”

“No he’s here in Texas, arriving in the morning or around noon” thumbing over her papers.

Stopping from his folder looking to the doorway seeing Mr. Santino waving him in pointing to the folder, walking in seeing the folder waving for the phone.

“Hello this is Mr. Santino how’s everything?”

“Great Eric here in Texas”

“He made it well that’s good news”

“Good? what about the social worker is she coming for him?”

“That’s not going to happen Mrs Mazzionie”

“So were good’ no one coming looking for him?” holding the phone waiting

“No he’s out of their jurisdiction’ so they say besides costing the state to much to take him back to Rhode Island just to place him in a juvenile facility till he was eighteen”

“So what’s our next move than?”

“Is he with you now?”

“No he’s here in Texas, arriving in the morning or around noon”

“That’s a good sign, will file a few more papers and will see you say Monday that good for you?”

Hastate looking down shocked “Monday?”

“Sure around Ten and bring Eric I’d like to meet him also”

“Mr. Santino we live in Texas”

“Yes I know’ Say lunch in town’ I’ll call when we arrive and set up a place”

“That be just fine’ Will have lunch”

“Good will see you on Monday Mrs. Mazzionie you have a good day now”

Penny just smiled at the phone hearing it disconnect sitting back in the chair with a big smile.

“Lawyer’s they don’t know if there coming or going’ Lunch Ta Ta” Smiling closing the folder.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a comment